There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

It is undeniable that the increasing crime rate is one of the most challenging issues at present. Many people claim that the death penalty should be imposed for serious crimes, whereas others believe that effective measures such as education and rehabilitation are better options to reduce criminal activities.

On the one hand, strict punishments are demanded for offenders due to the severity of crime. In other words, murder and rape are unforgiveable offences; thus, execution is seen as the best punishment for them. The reason behind this claim is the trauma of victims’ families and social instability caused by them. Consequently, if capital punishment is imposed, it will deter the criminals from committing any crimes. For example, some nations such as Saudi Arabia have imposed death penalty for most of offences; therefore, the crime rate has reduced significantly in the country.

On the other hand, others advocate that there are multiple ways to tackle this challenge. According to them, education is a valuable tool to mitigate illegal incidents. To clarify, it can provide the insight for being responsible citizens and encourage the population to obey laws. Moreover, rehabilitation centers can also bring a prominent change to current situation. Simply put, psychological assistance can help the existing offenders change their mindset; hence, they will avoid committing further crimes.