There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

There has been an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. For as long as crime has existed, there’s always been systems and measures of deterrent put in place in society to curb it based on the seriousness of the crime. Some people believe that the best way to deter serious crimes in the society is through death penalty wile many believe that other measures are needed. This begs the question, what happens when someone wrongly convicted is put on death penalty?

Over the years death penalty has been applied on serious crimes like treason, terrorism and serial murder all around the world. Death penalty as a form of punishment serves as an example to future offenders. The thought of being killed once found and ruled guilty by the court can easily deter many criminals from taking part in serious crime because they already know that they will lose everything. For example, a man plotting to leak a country’s intel to another will be afraid to do so if they know they will die if caught. It ends up being a risk not worth taking. This becomes an effective way of deterring serious crimes.

On the other hand, instead of the death penalty, other measures can be applied. For example, life sentences for the convicted criminals in place of death penalty, reformer programs in prisons that include guidance and counselling, community outreach programs, skill development and goodwill practice within the prisons with rewarding systems for consistent good behavior. One great benefit that a life sentence offer is room for evidence error. For example, in some cases, new evidence may be presented to the court that may exonerate the convicted criminal and prove them innocent. This allows for fair trial and for justice to be served to the right person. Imagine if the evidence was presented when the death penalty had already been executed.

It has been proven through research that many criminals act out because of negative influence from childhood traumas, drug use and the environment they are brought up in.These factors influence their behavior and conditioning that lead them to crime. Having systematic programs in the prisons can help reprogram these individuals to become productive and responsible members of the society through pro-active support. For example, through rehabilitation of drug abusers.

Serious crimes like serial murder, drug trafficking, terrorism, cannibalism, organ trafficking, human trafficking, rape and child abuse have adverse effects on victims, their families and the society at large. I believe that such perpetrators deserve punishment that is equally as devastating as the crimes the crimes committed, but at the same time, I believe that no one regardless of their level of authority has and should have the power to decide who lives and who doesn’t. Everyone deserves to live and to live their full life. I believe that there are those who do not deserve a place in the free society because their freedom risks more harm than good to people. They should be locked in prison and denied access and freedom from the society to ensure safety for all. What I would add is that as they receive life sentence, there are those who are wiling to reform and they should be given a chance to reform within the prison walls by being part of tailor-made programs geared to help them become better psychologically, emotionally, spiritually, physically and skillfully.