There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly common for people to assess learners with the help of exams rather than traditional methods, such as daily assessment. While this development offers several advantages, it also has some disadvantages. This essay will discuss both sides of exams as a form of assessment.

One of the main benefits of assessing students through exams is that it allows teachers to assess learners’ level of education in current field of science or subject. As a result, individuals can illustrate their range of knowledge, which they learn throughout the given period. For example, a medical student who passes the exam in histology can demonstrate his knowledge through biochemistry. It can lead to improving his score band. Another advantage is that this type of assessment can be easy for students. This can help university members achieve the band score they want.

Despite these benefits, there are some drawbacks. One disadvantage is that members of university can miss lessons but gain a high score at the exam. Consequently, students consider that daily education does not matter. For instance, an examinator can assess a student with high score, although this student was passive among other students.

In conclusion, although assessment students by exams have some disadvantages, I believe that its disadvantages are more significant because it allows teachers to assess current state of students’ education.