There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment.What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

It is clear that assessment methodology for following our students’ performance is a key factor on teaching. Although many people encourage using tests as a manner of evaluation for our children in schools, others are against supporting another criteria of doing assessment throughout the learning journey.

one of the most important benifits for using exams is how fair is the results for all the participated students as the marks depending only on the number of correct answers while some teachers sometimes include students’ attitude as marking perspective during their assessment within the continual assessment method. furthermore, students witness anxiety only for few days before the exams while on the continual assessment they are forced to face fear for along period as they are evaluated continously. as a result of using this criteria this affects some students performance .

on the other hand one of the problems of assessing students through exams is lack of justice as in rare cases test talkers may suffer from circumestances affect their performace such as health troubles. and this may results in unaccurated marks which would be a missleading in the assesment process. In addition to, onother problem is that exams does not take into consideration how students interacts during learing process which may affects their performace and their colleagues performance as well.

For conclusion, depending on exams as a way of an assessing criteria has many advantages for example, helps in assuring fairness for the process and has less effect on the students feelings. and also has some disadvantages which can not be left. for instance it measures students interaction and assure giving assessment about the performance of the student during the whole assessed period.