These days, in some countries, an increasing number of young adults are choosing to spend their whole weekend inside their own homes Why do you think this is happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

The surging number of young adults who decide to spend their entire weekend at home is most likely caused by technology, such as their devices. Mobile phones and laptops have been a core component of many young adults’ identities and personalities; this could be caused by the early implementation of technology into young adult’s lives, mainly growing up with devices beside them, leading to an addictive-like effect on young adults.

Because of this, there will most likely be a negative development in the lives of young adults and future generations. The development of video games further led to the introduction of the E-Sport scene, sparking a new profession that children want to follow, encouraging children to play video games, in order to reach the goal of being in E-Sports teams. This encouragement further builds onto the addiction to technological devices. Leading to a increase of young adults that would rather stay at home. Conversely, Adults did not have a upbringing similar to young adults. Most adults’ upbringings did not have a close contact with devices and social media until they were teenagers or adults. They most likely had not choice but to go outside and play sports, which is far different from the lives of the young adult generation.

In addition to this, it could be said that most of the resources that the younger generation needs are on their devices. Further enforcing the fact that there is not much need to go outside anymore. It cannot be said that video games and entertainment are the main reasons young adults choose to stay at home. Unlike the older generation, such as the parents of the young adults, read physical books. However, most books are now digitalized to offer less occupation of space as they are mostly on devices. The lack of need to go outside may also be caused the the Covid-19 epidemic, as many cities were on lockdown, manny people could not go outside. Therefore manny turned to laptops, phones, and television. Since it was nearly impossible for outdoor sports to be done, a new stima has formed.

Although there can be a negative effect towards the development of the younger generation, as less time will be spent with family due to distraction caused by technology. Conversely, it could also allow for a positive development, as most children will stay at home, possibly allowing for more time to be spent with family, through the unification of technology, developing a common interest or bond.