These days many families move to other countries for work. Some people believe that children in these families benefit from this move. However, others believe that it makes life more difficult for the children. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It has become increasingly common that people move from one country to another in order to find work. When they do this, they often take their children with them. This has major advantages and disadvantages for them, which this essay will explore. It will argue that it is perhaps slightly more beneficial that children have this experience in their lives.

Moving to another country is a major decision to make because it involves serious upheaval, particularly when you have children. There are countless possible stresses and shocks that are involved in this process, not the least of which is having to learn a new language. For children, this means moving not just to a new country but to a whole new education system, and while it surely offers opportunities, it is also a frightening experience. These kids can quickly become socially ostracised due to not speaking the local language perfectly or even just through racism or xenophobia.

However, it should not be forgotten that there are various benefits to moving abroad and that even though it may be difficult at first, it might be worthwhile in the long run. Children are resilient and adaptable, so they should cope with the shock of the move. After a few months or years, they will have learned a new language, made new friends, adapted to a new culture, and learned new things. As adults, they will probably look back on this as a period of positive change that made them into stronger and more talented people. Although it was difficult at the time, they will no doubt recognise in the future that it was a necessary hardship to endure.

In conclusion, there are two sides to this debate and each of them has strong points to make, but ultimately it would probably be for the best that a family moves to a new country with their children because there is so much potential for personal growth.