These days, many people like to watch live performances (such as shows or concerts) at home, either on TV or on a computer, instead of attending in person. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, we witness a huge technological advancement, which led to altering innumerable activities to be occurred remotely or from the comfort of houses. I am a staunch believer that that sentimental interactions taking place between human beings will never be replaced by electronic gadgets. A plethora of individuals prefer to watch shows on tv or computer, but I opine that watching live shows advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

On one hand, many advocates strongly embrace the concept of watching recorded performances rather than the live ones. A prime example is Egypt in which many youths are suffering from financial instability and encounter many challenges due to economic recession; which caused them to opt for less costly or even free of charge methods of entertainment. In addition, individuals with mobility disorders would enjoy the performances without being subjected to stampede or pickpocketing in the crowded venues where live performances take place. Furthermore, villagers and people who reside in rural areas have a limited accessibility to attend concerts or performances, and they have to pay for accommodation, commuting to and from their home. It is undeniably obvious how smart TVS, LD screens and digital streaming platforms such as Netflix, IPTV, Shahid made everyone’s life easier to enjoy quality time with their family members without carrying on any financial burdens.

On the other hand, many social researchers and I hold the view that there is a profound enjoyment in watching live performances or concerts which cannot be replicated by watching them recorded. Firstly, attending a live concert for your favorite singer or musician or band boosts the sentimental satisfaction and the lightening effects on the stage reinforce this satisfactory feeling for seeing your favorite public figure. Secondly, those concerts and performances rely on in-person existence to improve the economic situation. Thirdly, the dolby effects used on the stages assist in delivering a more robust and immersive experience for the audiences.

In conclusion, I reiterate my opinion that attending live performances or concerts advantages outweigh any disadvantages, although watching recorded concerts and performances might be more convenient and appealing for a sector of individuals.