These Days Mobile Phones and The Internet Are Very Important to How People Relate to One Another Socially. Do the Advantages of This Development Outweigh the Disadvantages?

During the past few decades, mobile phones have become very important tools that we almost need most of the time, if we are to live in our society, comfortably. Most of the major tasks we do these days are almost one hundred percent automated, therefore to connect, relate and get close socially, mobile phones and the internet are necessary. Although this development has many pros and cons, I personally believe that the positives outweigh the negatives.

To begin with, the whole world has now become one big village, thanks to the advancement of technology, and the internet and phone have not only helped us get closer but are also acting as a catalyst in human connections nowadays. It is easier to talk to your loved ones now, unlike a few decades ago, and a mere press of a button can bring us close with the whole world. This obviously is not limited to loved ones only, due to the number of social media platforms we have, and different trends, memes etc now reaches even the furthest corners of the earth with little difficulty, This naturally creates a common ground for a lot of people and it eventually makes it easier for people to relate to each other and connect, be it through fashion, humor or other topics.

In addition, we now have the ability to access information and news from all over the world, with just one swipe, from multiple platforms be it twitter or instagram, as opposed to the situation a few decades ago, where people exclusively relied on the Television and Newspapers for new/ information. This makes the news much more timely, and unlike back then, we now have the luxury to receive information on anything we want, rather than reading the little news available, which has made it much more easy for people to connect with the demographic of people they want to. For instance; if you are a stamp collector, you can access information you want on the relevant topics from all over the world, and this in turn will make it easier for the person to connect with other collectors throughout the world and for the other collectors to relate to this person more.

Everything in this world comes with pros and cons, and the situation given in this question is no different from anything else. However, in my humble opinion, the pros definitely outweigh the cons. Moreover the key to succeeding in whatever you do lies in how good you are at understanding the particular subject, and if the phone and internet lets you understand people more, I would consider it a big win for mankind.