These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, many online services have emerged along with the Internet, bringing disruptive changes for people across the globe. These days, it is believed that more people fill in their confidential information, such as names, addresses, and telephone numbers, online for daily activities on different social media or banking purposes. This essay will examine whether this is a beneficial or pernicious development by providing sufficient arguments.

On the one hand, many human beings may put their personal information on social media because it makes it easier for them to find new friends in their communities. For example, if somebody moves and wants to settle down in a new place, they undoubtedly should make friends in order to socialize and be aware of the city’s traditions. For this purpose, social networks could be an ideal match since you can personalize your account, choosing your hobbies, preferences, values, and even addresses or telephone numbers. By doing this, social media can pick an ideal person for an individual with whom they may find something in common.

On the other hand, it is argued that writing down confidential data on every place somebody visits on the Internet will have repercussions. Firstly, corporations that own social media have access to all of your information that you leave on the sites. Moreover, some argue that this data can be leaked to authorities or other people, leading to mere interference in personal life. Secondly, by filling in all the personal details, such as addresses or telephone numbers, individuals can endanger themselves by being chased by offenders or by leaking data to unsafe websites on the Internet. Likewise, sharing debit card information with individuals can lead to unauthorized access and potential financial fraud.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that exposing personal data is a negative development since it leads to the leaking of confidential information, interference in personal life, or unauthorized access to bank accounts. Whereas, making new friends by providing your preferences can be an advantage.