These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Being able to socialise on the internet is a great advantage, if we compare to the old life style to ours. But, giving out personal information to strangers or access to the world is a scary factor. We must think before taking a step. I think this update has a negative impact.

This development has both effects, but first everyone should be aware of the drawbacks; there are number of platforms on the internet, which allows us to shop, transfer money, compare products, book hotels, and, connect to people who are thousands of miles away, but nothing comes free. Majority of the sites asks for our personal information like, email, phone number, name, and, address; impatiently we provide them, just to continue our work. But some companies buy our data from these websites to use for their purpose, for an example, I was looking for IELTS materials one day, later that evening, I got a call from an unknown person asking for my IELTS coaching.

Additionally, when we use different platforms for banking purpose, there is a high chance of getting hacked and losing all our savings, and, assets. Instagram, Facebook and other several apps are quite popular in present, even school kids are active, but this has taken a wrong direction and with the help of AI, some of them are using it to threaten people and demand money.

On the other hand, there are few gains from sharing data, people are able to connect with others from across the globe, check out places from different countries, and, get better suggestions on products that we want to buy or even find a suitable place with good price to buy items.

Finally, I feel sharing information is good but on trusted platforms, if not, we are exposing our self to the predator, and yes, giving out personal information has taken a negative impact beyond our imagination.