These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s developed world, it is true that putting private data online are becoming a common way for users to access social media or banking. Although there are some benefits of this phenomenon, I would argue that there are far more drawbacks.

On the one hand, the undeniable benefit toward giving information online is the convenience it brings to everyday transactions. In the past when technology was still underdeveloped, people had to rely more on the traditional method to purchase goods. Shopping required physically going to stores, selected items and had a trade with sellers due to cash. However, in this modern age, buyers can easier to purchase goods online through basic steps: choose items on shipping online platform, enter their shipping address. As a result, the goods can be brought to their home with good arriving services. Similarly to online banking, users can create their own online accounts by putting information online, without needs of experiencing the cumbersome procedure.

Despite the advantage I mentioned above, I would argue that the drawbacks outweigh these benefit. When people share their private information on the Internet, this may lead to identity thief. To explain, cybercriminals can steal your information to nefarious purposes such as trading tour informations with some organizations to take moneys or making transaction by using your name. And the consequence is your personal reputation and personal life will be significantly affected. Moreover, the possibility of targeted scam when people share their information online. For inostance, in Vietnam, the issue of scamming online are becoming serious. The online thief use human informations that they collect to creat legit message and physical call to prompt click a link, download an attachment. Immediately, the cybercriminals have controls of users server then money from users banking accounts are charged.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of sharing personal information online are more significant than the possible benefits.