These days, people prefer to throw damaged items away, while in the past, they used to repair and use things for a long time. Why do you think this change has happened? What are the effects of this change?

In recent times, advancements in technology and rising global business have profoundly transformed the consumer industry. When any items stopped working, individuals prioritize to purchase new items rather than repairing the items. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons behind this development and explain the effects of this trend.

One of the main reasons why individuals prefer to buy brand new products instead of fixing them is that individuals want to live a lavish lifestyle compared to the past. Enhancing people’s standard of living encourages them to purchase new products that offer new features, stylist designs and many other functions, even though they can use the products after servicing. Another reason is that marketing companies play an essential role in attracting new consumers. Due to increasing global competition, companies are spending significant resources on the marketing department. As a result, while customers are fascinated by watching innovative marketing advertises to purchase new products regardless of necessities, companies earn substantial profits from those captivating advertises.

Furthermore, this trend brings some potential benefits and a few drawbacks to society. Increasing the trend of buying new products opens opportunities for local businesses as well as for international businesses. When consumers’ purchasing power boosts, it will not only encourage cross-border businesses but also assist consumers in buying products at reasonable prices from a competitive market. However, this kind of materialistic lifestyle leads to several environmental problems. Additionally, the more people prefer to invest in new items rather than repairing, the more pollution and environment-related problems increase.

In conclusion, although buying new items will aid boost social standards and promote new businesses, the negative effects of materialistic lifestyle cannot be ignored. In my opinion, individuals should think wisely and emphasize fixing items rather than purchasing new items for the overall well-being of the ecosystem.