Today, food travels thousands of miles from farms before it reaches consumers in urban areas. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative trend.

With the state-of-the-art technology, the foods in recent days have been transported for a long time to reach consumers. This is definitely an adverse development and the main reasons that lay behind this is the weather and technology.

Admittedly, there are several reasons that contribute to the tendency of the traveling foods. One primary factor is that the weather and terrain of some nations can lead to ungrowing of some specific fruits or vegetables. For instance, in Vietnam which is an Asian country and located near the Sun so it is hard for them to agriculture some fruits that need low temperatures or do not need much water. As a result, Vietnam needs to import a variety of foods from other cold nations due to the citizens’ demands. Another major reason is improving transportation and the quality of refrigerators devices. Those advancement techniques allow individuals to ship easier and more conveniently. Take modern logistic system as an example, after thousands of reforms, this modern technology can help people to transport a variety of goods across long continents while they still remain fresh and have high standard quality as they have been picked.

In contrast, this issue can bring many consequences that strongly affect humans and the environment. Firstly, those modern transportation can release many carbon footprints to the air, leading to air pollution and endangered creatures. Those carbon dioxide contribute to the air and make many places of the animals will be destroyed. The outcome of this is that, the amount of some animals can be reduced significantly and people’s food source also can be affected too. Secondly, that toxic gases can harm to individual’s health ,specially kids and pregaunt womens. Carbon dioxide will go inside their bodies and can create some serious diseases related to respiratory.

In conclusion, the modern food travels greatly through distances due to technological progress and the differences in agriculture capacity in distinct countries. However, this trend can cause many serious problems to both individuals and the environment so the governments need to create some strict rules about the amount of carbon dioxide that each transport releases to the air and encourage scientists to manufacture some revolutionary technologies.