Today, food travels thousands of miles from farms before it reaches consumers in urban areas. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative trend.

Nowadays, food covers thousands of miles before it reaches consumers. Everything can be delivered in one week or more. Most people can order banana, while there are living in cold lands, where you cannot meet any grass. Also men in well developed countries like United States, France, Britain or Germany can go to supermarket and buy meals and ingredients from Far East Asia.

Why is this? In my honest opinion, it is related to technology development and industrial successes. Sea freight transportation is the cheapest and most voluminous type of transportation. For example: China is a major center of goods, products and mass production, with many seaports. In Shanghai, a 20-ton container is loaded onto a ship every second. Large container ships sail all over the world.

If shipping is inexpensive there will be no significant price increase. After this, the product became affordable and more and more people could buy it, it went from being a luxury item to an accessible one.

Although I have noticed that items like Dubai chocolate, tofu (made from soy milk), and coconut, as well as other goods that cannot be grown in the United States, Europe, or Russia because of unsuitable soil, air, temperature, and humidity conditions, are gaining a lot of popularity on social media. This gives you a huge choice. However, the transportation of food over long distances can have negative consequences for the quality and nutritional value of the food itself. Many types of food, particularly fruits and vegetables, are often harvested before they are fully ripe in order to withstand the rigors of long-distance transportation. As a result, they are often less flavorful and less nutritious than locally sourced produce. Moreover, long transportation times can lead to spoilage, resulting in food waste and further environmental harm. You must be careful when purchasing something exotic, there is a possible chance that they may be spoilt.

In conclusion, sea freight gives us the opportunity to deliver anything from anywhere in the world. It is convenient but also bring a lot problems. The food can be spoilt and can tox someone. We should prioritize purchasing locally produced goods and be wary of goods imported from abroad.