Today, food travels thousands of miles from farms before it reaches consumers in urban areas. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative trend.

Nowadays, most countries import foods from extremely long distance.While this trend can be seen as desirable in some regards.I would argue that it is, on the whole, a change for worse.

On the one hand, these imported foods boost variation of food.That is, consumers can enjoy foods that are not grown locally such as tropical fruits, seafood and so on, and these foods improves diet diversity and food choices all year round.For instance Uzbekistan imports tropic fruits from different part of world to fulfill its residents’ desires.Moreover, this kind of foods has a great benefit for economy. For example, these trades create jobs in farming, transportation, storage, and retail, and also encourages innovation in agriculture and transport.

On the other hand, I would contend this an undesirable trend for four reasons.For one, long-distance transport increases carbon emissions and contributes to climate change and air pollution.Secondly, these foods requires transportation, packaging, and storage which can lead to higher cost that low-budget families cannot afford to consume such nuorishments.Furthermore, cheaper imported food can harm local farmers, so small farms may struggle to compete with large international producers.Finally, long-distance reduces food’s freshness and quality. Food often requires preservatives to last longer and it may cause health issues among consumers. As an example, in 2004, Vatican faced huge immense of patients which injured by imported food.

In conclusion, though these imported foods may bring some advantages such as availability of food every season and economic growth, I am inclined that it is sure to lead to environmental damage, unfulfilled desires and health problems.