Today food travels to from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that it would be more better for the economy and environment if people ate food produced from local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

In the era of globalised trades and transportation facilities, food products have been reached to the customers from vast distances to doorstep. It is contended that if people consume local products, it will provide significant advantages to environment and economy. The merits of utilizing international products related to reduction of carbon emissions and local economic sustainability overshadow the demerits of this trend. This essay will explore above scenario.

One the one hand, before reaching customer’s plate food products must travel from one continent to another by different way of transportation. Therefore, tons of fossil fuels especially fossil and oils need to utilize for it. Carbon emissions by using such hydrocarbons exacerbate the greenhouse gas effect and climate change. In contrast, local products must travel short distances to reach customers, thus; it consume less amount of fossil. Thusly, less carbon emissions may substantially reduce greenhouse gases and this contributes to environmental sustainability. Furthermore, if customers purchasing local products, the money will circulates within the community and support to the economic sustainability.

Despite having advantages, this trend has certain disadvantages. The foremost demerit is people have limited access to food items and other products. Due to the soil and climate conditions a few varieties of fruits and vegetables are produce by regional farmers. This may partially affects people’s choices and it creates full dependency on local items. Additionally, local products have higher expenses than international items.

In summary, the merits of utilizing regional food items particularly in terms of low carbon footprint and local economical growth outweigh the demerits related to limited access of foods. Government immense involvement and support would enhance the local production and farmers.