Today food travels to from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that it would be more better for the economy and environment if people ate food produced from local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

These days food journeys excessive distances before arriving at the consumer. It is a commonly held belief that people should buy locally produced food. In my opinion, the potential advantages of eating food from local farm are far greater than the possible drawbacks.

On the one hand, choosing locally sourced food offers various disadvantages. One obvious downside to this tendency is that local farming may not be sufficient to meet the demand for certain foods. Because of limited resources, such as soil or water, it can be difficult to grow a wide range of crops. Furthermore, this can cause to lack of diversity in people’s eating.

As far as the disadvantages are concerned, there are also advantages to be taken into account. One benefit is positive environmental impact. By consuming locally produced food, we could reduce the carbon emissions which increases with transportation over long distances. Another positive aspect is that supporting local farmers also helps boost the local economy. Moreover, buying food from local producers can create job opportunity and with the help of circulating money within the community leads to greater economic growth.

To conclude, despite upside downs, it seems to me that the advantages of consuming local foods in terms of economy and environment would be more considerable.