Today food travels to from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people say that it would be more better for the economy and environment if people ate food produced from local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been said that nowadays, food consumers are collecting food from farms that are located far away. Although some people believe that it would be a better aspect to collect food from local farmers and that it would be beneficial for the economy and environment, I totally oppose this method because many types of food are produced in different places, and another reason is that immigrant people are keen to consume their home countries’ foods. In the following paragraphs, I discuss my points regarding the drawback I have chosen.

A crucial drawback of the mentioned idea is that many types of food are produced in different places. The earth is very diverse, and different countries in the world produce different types of food. When a person needs to eat his or her favorite food, he or she can obtain it from anywhere in the world. For example, jackfruit is not found on any other continent besides my country. These fruits are exported worldwide by import and export companies from Bangladesh.

In addition, another drawback of the mentioned idea is that immigrant people are keen to consume their home countries’ foods. Many people have lived abroad for various purposes. If they want to eat this food, they are able to purchase their home country’s food. For instance, in my country, we are keen to eat dried fish. My father lives in Qatar right now. He has no worry about consuming dried fish because it must be available there.

In conclusion, I want to convey that I fully oppose the mentioned idea of food production. Although it has advantages, they do not invalidate my above-mentioned reasons. Both are logically correct, but the advantages of this method would not outweigh the disadvantages.