Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

In this fast-paced society, it is increasingly popular for each individual to remain unfamiliar with their neighbors. Despite the alarming repercussion of this lack of connection, which contributes to decreased security and social isolation, several effective measures can be implemented to mitigate the situation above.

There are two main problems engendered by the lack of neighborly relationship. Chief of these is the insecurity emerging in residential areas. This could be explained by the fact that when people neglect one another, criminal activities may easily occur without supervision and attention, whereupon leading to unforeseen consequences such as serial killers. Another problem associated with the absence of socialization is the potential risk of increased social isolation. For example, humans exist and develop on connections among individuals in community. Hence, this disconnection can impact detrimentally on their mental health, leading to depression or anxiety.

To alleviate the issues of lack of neighborly communication, some viable solutions should be implemented. The first solution is that local authority ought to establish more community events, such as cleanup activities or meetings in residential area, aiming to create an opportunity for them to meet and build up better relationships. Furthermore, constructing many public spaces including parks, stadiums or community centers is also an effective way to allow them to gather and interact with one another.

In conclusion, the breakdown of neighborly relationship could give rise to decreased safety and higher risks of social isolation. However, several steps are suggested to minimize this matter, such as organizing events or bringing more public sites which under the arrangement of local governments.