Today many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. • What are the causes of the/this situation? • What can be done about this problem?

In today’s rapidly evolving society numerous concerns have surfaced as significant global challenges. One particularly alarming issue is that a considerable proportion of people possess minimal awareness of the individuals residing in their immediate neighbourhoods. This impending essay will critically examine the underlying factors contributing to this issue and propose several RATIONAL / PRAGMATIC solutions to address this problem.

To commence, several reasons have contributed to the escalation of the issue. The most compelling factor is that individuals tend to lead exceptionally hustling lifestyles. In other words, when people are occupied with extending working hours, they are left with little time, enthusiasm or emotional energy to interact with those living nearby. For example, in major urban centres many employees work around the clock in order to make both ends meet, which limits opportunities for meaningful social interaction with neighbours.

Another significant factor behind this phenomenon is the excessive reliance on digital entertainment. This is primarily due to the fact that, spending a hefty amount of time on social media platforms, smartphones and many more somehow makes people detached from real-life social interaction. For example, many urban residents devote hours each day to Instagram, Facebook and Netflix instead of building relationships with neighbours; thus, neighbourhood connections start diminishing quickly.

Nevertheless, this problem needs to be addressed from a variety of angles simultaneously. Most importantly local authorities had better arrange social events on a regular basis. By doing this people would get a golden opportunity to interact with one another (or step out of the house) and establish interpersonal relationships. In addition to this, youngsters should be encouraged to maintain a healthier balance between technology usage and face-to-face interaction. Hence, individuals can gradually rebuild social connections within their surroundings. If these strategies are executed effectively, this issue can be mitigated to a considerable degree.

From what has been discussed it can be concluded that this issue has turned a pressing concern (gigantic) making it difficult to resolve through short-term measures. Therefore, the aforementioned remedies must be difficult (diligently) (daunting) implemented in a prompt manner to effectively alleviate its adverse consequences.