Today many people work until a later age. Do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages? Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today’s society, there are many people who are working despite their old age. Even though working after retirement age might put pressure on an elderly person both physically and mentally, some argue that it can benefit both old individuals and the society by providing financial stability and lessening the burden on their family or relatives. In my opinion, the advantages of working after retirement surpass the drawbacks of it.

Doing labour in old age provides an opportunity to stay active both physically and mentally which can benefit their health overall. Majority of elderly people staying at home have a high possibility of getting dementia. However, being physically active by walking regularly can prevent the risk of getting dementia. Also, earning continuous income can help retired individuals to be financially independent from their family or relatives. Moreover, their labour can prevent labour shortages for the countries that have low birth level. For instance, the majority of Japan’s workforce is composed of people over age 65.

On the other hand, old workers might get injured or exhausted at the workplace due to old age. Indeed, people over age 60 or 65 are biologically less strong compared to younger workers when it comes to handling jobs that involve physical actions. Thus slowing the process of work and becoming a burden to other workers. Also, it is questionable that they can keep up with the increasingly fast paced development of technology. Nevertheless, I suppose it can be solved through cooperation of elderly workers and those who are good at it.

In conclusion, numbers of people are working although they are supposed to be on pension. It can be beneficial by providing financial stability or staying active. Although there are many downsides, I believe it is outweighed by the benefits it enables.