Today, many stores import food products from different countries. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Today, many stores import food products form different areas around the world to sell it to their customers. I believe this is a very promising development, because people can have a chance to try new items, and it might solve the shortage of particular food options.

Initially, the expansion of global trade offered us an opportunity to explore new flavours from various countries, without the need to travel abroad. Now, people are able to eat popular dishes or purchase spices imported from a different area, which was not available before, to add it in their meals. For instance, people in Saudi Arabia are starting to use more spices that are imported from India in their cooking, and they reported that this altered the flavour of their traditional dishes significantly, and they were able to enjoy their meals more.

Regarding the second reason, some countries may suffer from a shortage of some ingredients or products, like wheat, and thus importing various food categories, helps in achieving self-independence. Many governments offers cuts on tariffs to the importers when they attempt to purchase items, that are experiencing a shortage in the local market. Sudan is the one of the countries that depends on global trade to supply their need for wheat for the baking industries which employs thousands of people, so the expenses on importation may easily reach billions of dollars each year.

In conclusion, its logical to say that importing food from several countries might be a way for the population to learn about the outer world food, and offer a solution for the local market shortage of the items which are needed by the population and the local manufacturers.