Today, many stores import food products from different countries. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Today, many stores import food products from different areas around the world to sell to their customers. I believe this is a very positive development, because people can have a chance to try new items, and it might solve shortages of particular food options.

Initially, the expansion of global trade offered us an opportunity to explore new flavours from various countries, without the need to travel abroad. Now, people are able to eat popular dishes or purchase spices imported from different areas, which were not available before, to add to their meals. For instance, people in Saudi Arabia are starting to use more spices imported from India in their cooking, and they report that this altered the flavour of their traditional dishes significantly, and they are able to enjoy their meals more.

Regarding the second reason, some countries may suffer from shortages of some ingredients or products, like wheat, and thus importing various food categories helps in achieving self-sufficiency. Many governments offer cuts to importers when they attempt to purchase items that are experiencing shortages in the local market. Sudan is one of the countries that depends on global trade to supply its need for wheat for the baking industries, which employ thousands of people, so the expenses on importation may easily reach billions of dollars each year.

In conclusion, it is logical to say that importing food from several countries may be a way for the population to learn about the world food and offer a solution for local market shortages of items needed by the population and local manufacturers.