Today people are travelling more than in the past. What's the cause?

It is deemed that nowadays individuals tend to travel more than in the past. I strongly believe that the root cause is people’s level of awareness of current travelling opportunities.

In the past, grassroots did not use to travel a lot as they were not aware of available airlines.

For instance, many of the USSR’s citizens were not simply able to go abroad due to a barrier, which is also called an “iron curtain”. The iron curtain itself and Soviet politicians at that time would not enable the citizens to explore any information outside the country. Thus, the number of flights from the USSR was not vast.

Nevertheless, it is worth noting that unlike the USSR’s citizens, who were not allowed to visit West European countries, other individuals from capitalistic countries with a huge spectrum of travelling opportunities, merely did not have a big sum of money. It might be caused primarily by low income and different daily expenses. Thus, people did not use to save much money for travelling purposes, whereas nowadays grassroots receive big amounts of cash and save them for later trips.

To conclude, the number of people travelling abroad or across a country has soared compared with the past due to a wide range of given opportunities in current life conditions.