Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The consumers buy a lot of popular products now because of the huge power of advertising, not because people need them. This essay completely agrees that advertisement mainly exploits emotional desires and the wish to emphasize status in the eyes of society.

Human psychology includes strong emotions that can manifest themselves as a simple reaction to vivid, colorful or attractive images contained in an advertisement. Analysing relevant information can be too energy-intensive for our brains, while advertising creators use simple explanations for purchasers who are mostly guided by fundamental instincts. Therefore, they present ideas why it is necessary to purchase a particular item, such as sexuality, dependence on sugar and fats, or the need for dopamine stimulation. For example, it is known that most commercials feature sexy men and women, vivid elements of delicious food or a way to gain benefits without any effort.

Although the craving to highlight one’s high social position may partially coincide with the usual emotional consumption listed above, this method means that buying a certain product can be a manifestation of personal success. Given that when people acquire branded items, they try to claim that they have exceptional personal qualities compared to others, and these features are usually demonstrated in ads. The most exclusive products have average qualities, while their high prices are commonly a result of good marketing campaigns. For example, almost every so-called “exclusive” high-fee bank card has only one distinguishing trait, such as any dark color and a name similar to “infinitive” or “platinum”.

In conclusion, many people make purchases under the influence of advertising, which uses a person’s emotional and impulsive thinking, and the idea to show personal exclusivity, and I believe that without such advertising, people do not make many such acquisitions.