Today, TV channels provide men's sports shows more than women's sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sports and men's sports?

These days, there are more male’s sports programs than female which provides by TV channels. Personally, I think that attracting a huge audience and traditional social perceptions are main reasons why this situation existed. However, TV channels should give balance airtime for both women and men’s sports due to equal recognition and inspiration.

There are two main causes why male’s sport shows have more time than female which are appealing a large fan and conventional social views. Up to now, TV channels have shown more men’s sports than women’s sports, perhaps because so far men’s sports have been more popular; however, until now, there hasn’t been much effort to promote women’s sports equally. For example, male’s World Cup appeal a halve of number of audiences compared to females which TV channels prioritize viewer preferences to maximize their profits. Secondly, due to traditional social perceptions which still have the biggest effect on media coverage. In the past, sports are considered as a male domain which many people admit it too violent for women and with these deeply rooted beliefs influence to TV channels’s airtime.

However, TV sports programs should provide equal time for female and male’s sports shows because of the same level of recognition and motivation for both gender. Women participants could receive equal recognition due to their dedication and achievements so when female’s sports shows have the fair media coverage, women players can gain more sponsorship opportunities and support. Hence, the successful can be seen as the equal financial rewards. Moreover, the increasing of women’s sports programs airtime can inspire girls to persuade sports. As an illustration, the number of football participants who are girls significantly increased after watching women’s football match which demonstrate the effect on female’s sports programs could motivate girls to take part in sports professionally.

In conclusion, while there are more male’s sports programs than female which provides by TV channels which due to appealing a large audience and conventional social views are main reasons why this situation happened, I still think that TV channels should provide equal airtime to both women and men’s sports because of promote fairness recognition and inspiration.