Today, TV channels provide men's sports shows more than women's sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sports and men's sports?

Nowadays, sports programs for males outnumber those for females. Personally, the driving factor behind this phenomenon is men’s superior physical strength, which is a prerequisite for playing sports. However, I believe that TV channels should allocate equal time to both genders’ sports shows to promote gender equality in the contemporary world.

To begin with, the preeminence of sport shows exclusively for men may stem from their superior strength compared to female counterparts. Granted, there is a traditional view that while women should only do less demanding jobs because they are innately physically inferior, men are born to outperform regarding physical capability, having greater endurance, agility, and desirable heights, making them more qualified for playing sports, especially those requiring a high amount of physical strength and stamina. Thus, it will be understandable why television channels prioritize their sports programs over women’s ones. This sentiment finds its resonance in basketball and volleyball, which are rarely enjoyed by women due to their limited heights.

However, I opine that sports shows of both sexes should be shown in equal periods of time to promote gender equality. Admittedly, that preponderance will inevitably lead to an assumption that sports are exclusively created for men, who are physically superior to women, thereby creating a disparity between the two. Therefore, juggling between the two genders in terms of sports programs will partially blur the difference in contemporary society and eliminate prejudices against women enjoying sports. This will create an equitable world where all people, regardless of their gender, are equal. A prominent epitome is England, which has made significant progress in narrowing the gap between the two sexes in football by setting up the English National Women’s Football Team.

In conclusion, I posit that the driving factor behind the predominance of sports shows selected for males is their physical strength, superior to that of female counterparts, making them more suitable for playing sports. However, I concur that equalizing the time for both genders’ sports programs will blur the difference between the two genders, thereby promoting gender equality.