Today, TV channels provide men's sports shows more than women's sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sports and men's sports?

It is true that nowadays, TV channels often tend to broadcast male’s sports shows more than female’s sports shows. In my opinion, I personally believe that broadcasters should more balance between time for sports shows of both gender.

On the one hand, it is understandable that men’s sports programes are prioritized by broadcasters. Firstly, broadcasters need rely on market demand in their country. Indeed, many people believe that men’s sports have larger audiences, leading to higher advertising revenue. Moreover, it motivated TV channels to prioritize broadcasting men’s sports to maximize profits. Secondly, men’s sports have longer history than women’s ones. For example, some men’s sports such as football or basketball, has became more popular over many generations. Additionally, the long history and prestige of major men’s competition may give broadcasters to prioritize them.

On the other hand, some people like me still think that TV channels should give equal time for both gender’s sports. The first reason is improving gender equality. This is the fact that if TV channels provide less programes of women’s sports, it will reduce opportunities of women athletes to showcase their talent and audiences will not understanding the value of women’s sports. Therefore, leading to gender inequality in sports. The second reason is enhancing awareness and encouraging growth. This is because of broadcasting more women’s sports can enhance awareness and inspire younger generations, especially girls, to participate in sports. Thus, they can develop their skills and health.

In conclusions, although today TV channels have a tendency to provide sports shows for men, but I still believe that we should balance time for both gender’s sports in order to encouraging growth comprehensive for all people.