Today, TV channels show more men's sports than women's sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sport and men's sport?

It’s true that men’s sports games are more frequently showed on media than women’s sports game. From my perspective, this could be due to two main factors that will be discussed in the paragraphs below.

The main reason is stereotype. People triditionally believe that men are more interest in exercising than women are. Similarly, men are more likely to watch sports shows than women are. As a result, medias, especially TV, tend to broadcast men’s sports show in order to gain more viewers. Secondly, people like to watch men’s sports because they are more intense. By the mean to attrect more audiences, TV producers like to show these stimulating, even violent games more.

However, this is not a healthy phenomenon. I believe that TV channels should give time equally for both genders. First of all, no matter what gender they are, one of the most significant income of athletes is supporting. Therefore, women athletes also need to be publicized in order to attrect supporters.

Furthermore, showing more women’s sports provides a perfect opportunity to encourage young women. This kind of shows is a announcement that sporting is not a activity that is limited to men. As a result, girls who watch women’s sport shows could not only develop their habit of exercising, but also have willing to distribute to sporting careers in the future such as athletes, PE teacher, etc.

In conclusion, in term of exercising is equally essential to both men and women, it is unfair to advertise one more than another.