Today, TV channels show more men's sports than women's sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sport and men's sport?

In recent times, TV channels telecast men’s sports events in greater ratio compared to women’s sports shows. This is happening because men’s sports events have greater popularity and there are financial benefits, however, I think TV channels should not provide same amount of show time, since it can decline the number of viewers.

One of the main reasons why sports shows played by men are telecasting more is that these shows are popular worldwide. While a sports show is telecasted online especially men’s football, cricket, boxing and basketball, a lot of viewers watch it live from different parts of the world, as these events are more competitive and energetic in contrast of female events. In addition to that because of the greater number of viewers in live shows, channels also collect huge amount of profit from these shows. Therefore, men’s events are getting more show time than female. A recent survey has shown that in last men’s FIFA Word Cup, channels earned 70% more than the women’s tournament.

However, I believe that sports programs for both genders should not receive equal airtime, as it could negatively impact a channel’s overall viewership. If broadcasters were to mandate equal showtime, viewers who are primarily interested in men’s sports might switch channels or lose interest, as they often prefer the higher intensity associated with those events. Consequently, these networks would risk alienating their core audience base, leading to a significant drop in ratings and, eventually, a financial crisis. For instance, certain regional sports networks that attempted to balance their programming too aggressively have historically seen a sharp decline in advertising revenue, proving that media schedules must align with public demand to remain economically viable.

To conclude, although there are valid reasons that TV channels should prioritize both male and female sports shows by providing similar amount of show time, I think, giving more priority to male sports show has greater significance for both viewers and channels.