Today, TV channels show more men's sports than women's sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sport and men's sport?

Nowadays, broadcast time of men’s sport is not equal to women’s sport time on television thus there appears an inequality between them. With regard to women’s rights, TV channels should change old traditions and add more broadcast time for women’s sport in order to balance inequality and appease a desire of women viewers.

The sports industry has been led by men for centuries. As a result, total domination and monopoly are taking place in our days. 29 billion euro is a turnover of only one UEFA organisation. Moreover, popular women players get far less than popular men players. For instance,the most popular football player Cristiano Ronaldo makes 16 million euro in a month whilst the most popular female football player Aitana Bonmaty makes only 1 million in a year. The gap is really huge.

On the other hand, TV channels are one of the causes. If in the past the majority of viewers were males then by 2025 this number changed dramatically. A great example of this is the game between the Netherlands and the USA. In 2019 260 million people saw this game and the majority of viewers were women. The popularity of women’s sport just soared in recent years. Correspondingly, TV channels will make even more income with this trend.

In conclusion, imbalance in sport should be solved since women have all rights to play in equal conditions alongside men. Additionally, more broadcast time ought to be provided by TV channels