Today's food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this so? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this fast-paced world, it has become increasingly common for food, fruits and grains to be transported thousands of kilometers before finally reaching the end customers. However, it is a controvertible concern whether government should import their food products from other countries or not. This dissertation will not ony canvass the possible reasons behind this trend but my opinion will also by highlighted that why I believe it is a negative trend.

To commence with, one of the major rationales behind transporting goods from other countries is due to globalization and increased inter-personal relations between countries. To explicit, whenever foreign trading is prioritized it not only enhance the relationship but also increases the quality of food items used in the homeland. There food items are rich in essential components owing to, good weather conditions, quality of soil and fertilisers and there way of cultivation gives sanguine outcomes to use crops for transport and trading. What is more, if food rich in micronurients, vitamins and minerals is consumed, it will impact on the health and well-being of consumers. Furthermore, advancement in technology has made it possible to transport and preserve food for a longer period of time.

Probing ahead, even though there are few effectual ramifications affixed with purchasing edibles from other nations, downsides of this trend cannot be overlooked. Categorically discussing, the transportation of food from far away places contribute to global warming. To be more precise, the carbon emissions from transportation vehciles used in the process have a negative impact on environment and air quality which is directly linked with green house effect and atering weather conditions. In addition, such trends are cost consuming and sometimes wastage of food can also be seen. A paradigm to elaborate this, a recent study published in Norway indicated that, nations are paying a huge amount of tax and cost on the products bought from other countries which in the end has a negative impact on economy and development. Moreover, many food items are spoiled on the way due to change in climatic conditions which eventually gives rise to food wastage. Hence, it has several detrimental effects which cannot be neglected.

In recapitulation, while it may seem convenient to transport goods from other countries but ineffectual factors related to this trend are worth mentioning. Thus, as per my perspective we should give preference to homeland, local vendors and companies for the better development of the nation and residents.