Today's food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this so? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, trucks of food must drive thousands of miles to deliver goods to customers. This essay will discuss that this is happening because some products cannot be grown everywhere due to different climates, and from my perspective, it is a great development, since people have an opportunity to try a variety of food.

The main reason why products have to travel thousands of miles to reach customers is that some sorts of food cannot be grown everywhere due to different climates. Each product has its own suitable conditions to grow, and some countries can be suitable for growing a particular type of product because they have the right temperature, the exact humidity for fruit, and other important conditions to cultivate high-quality products. For example, mangoes are a type of fruit that can be grown only in tropical and subtropical regions; thus, they cannot be grown in cold regions of the world or even in temperate ones, because they will not prosper. Consequently, it is the right conditions and climate that make customers wait for the products to be delivered to the shop.

From my perspective, the cultivation of products in far regions of the world is definitely a good development. One of the reasons is that individuals will not only have an opportunity to taste unique fruits or vegetables. If products are delivered from far away to customers, it means that they will have more options of goods. Moreover, people will have some fruits and vegetables all year round because they are delivered from other parts of the world. For example, citizens from cold countries will have the option to try sorts of fruits from tropical countries.

In conclusion, nowadays, food travels thousands of miles to deliver products to customers because in many parts of the world, people do not have the right conditions for growing some sorts of fruits or vegetables; therefore, the food goes from special countries where those types of fruits grow better. This can be a good development because the trade of food offers a variety of different products that people would like to try.