Today's food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this so? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the crops like vegetables, fruits and other food products are travelling a long distance from countries to purchasers in towns or cities crossing many national frontiers. So, the evolution of technology has influenced the life of human. In my opinion, it has many merits. The reasons regarding my opinions will be explained in the following texts.

To begin with, there is a range of reason by which the food transcends the barrier of the nations, and the foremost one is the meal preservation technology. By using it, human can store their delicious food without any taste alteration. For example, the specialists have developed packaging that allows to extend the shelf life and storage life of the product – with a vacuum. To create a vacuum in the packaging, oxygen is pumped out using a special mechanism and the package is sealed. Moreover, in the last trade survey reveals that, by air, about 60% of food freight is transported across the globe.

In addition, one of the major advantage of food is availability whole year in every country. In simple word, people can enjoy their desired meal taste in abroad with slashed price, easily, and without hamper its original taste. Furthermore, with the advent of technology, varied seasonal fruits and vegetables can be stored for a longer period. For instance, exotic fruits such as dragon fruit, mango, pineapple are often delivered to Russia. People can try new and unique food that they have not eaten before.

In conclusion, advance storage technology and transportation facilities, meal crosses the national barriers. It is not only logistical progress but also an opportunity for connection, innovation, and shared experiences among people from different cultures.