Today's food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this so? Is this a positive or negative development?

There are growing concerned about that food miles. While some argue that food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers has a negative effect on people, others disagree. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with the latter viewpoint.

On the one hand, nowadays we have advanced transportation cross over the world, which can lead to growth food-mile(the distance of food from production to consumption). Thus, many people enable to eat subtropics’ fruits in our home cause to development logistics and advanced transportation. However, it was attributed to critical issues such as pollution. (Many lorries and trucks make carbon emissions, water contaminations, and noisy pollutions). Additionally, many habitats of wildlife were destructed by road, rails.

On the other hand, I believe that the significant benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly, it can helps many countries boost economy, which lead to making infra structure(road, rails, and warehouse) and promote consumption. As s result, it helps growth economy Furthermore, many people enable to experience other culture. Being advanced transportation, people enable to eat other countries’ fruits. For example, a survey conducted by UCLA’s research department investigated whether participants agreed that advanced transportation help people understand other cultures. The results showed that 69% of respondent agreed, citing logical and well-founded reasons. Moreover, Warren Buttett, a globally recognized CEO and famous Investor who has listed in TIME’s 100 Most Influential Leader, mentioned in an interview that food trade make it easier to understand other culture’s people.

In conclusion, while food miles cause to pollution and destruction of wildlife, it have several positive factors such as boosting economy and experiencing other culture. Many expert insist that the positive ones outweigh the negative things. Therefore we should prioritize education on balancing about food consumption and control