In some countries , it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

Some countries set a law in order to make rejecting workers for their age illegal. I believe that forbidding the elimination of applicants because of their age is a negative development since this can make it harder for younger candidates in competitive markets, and it may increase hiring risks if age correlates with health or adaptability concerns.

Firstly, it is better to do not select old applicants due to the high probability of challenges for younger candidates in competitive environment. Most of unemployed people might face obstacles while searching their work, because of high concentration of elderly people. For instance, school administration might approve older teachers who have more experience than younger ones. This can increase the unemployment level and cause stress, anxiety and other mental health problems. Thus, refusing applicants for their age can reduce the pressure for younger applicants.

Secondly, this may lead to the growth of hiring risks when age correlates with health and flexibility problems. Some elderly people are tend to have some diseases, such as Alzheimer’s disease, heart problems or diabetes. As a result, these long term health problems can distract from the career and might require treatment. Moreover, older generation is less physically active than youth that can also be noticeable as a negative tendency in the quality of work. Hence, rejecting older applicants can decrease hiring risks.

Some people believe that it encourages a more diverse and inclusive workforce. However, it may not actually increase diversity, as employers could still practice indirect or unconscious bias. In addition, age diversity alone does not guarantee an inclusive workplace culture.

To sum up, I strongly believe that refusing applicants due to their age should be legal as younger applicants may find job easier and hiring risks might decrease.