Too much emphasis is placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examinations is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on young learners. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, many students have prepared for tests and exams, including assignments, and some people believe that these assessments constrain both students and teachers. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation, providing several reasons for each.

On the one hand, examinations can positively motivate teenagers. Many students tend to lose focus on their studies when they do not feel the pressure of external expectations. However, they are more likely to concentrate on their studies if they receive a good score on a test. Furthermore, parents and teachers can assess their students’ current levels through fair testing. For instance, when parents are looking to enroll their children in college, they need to understand their academic standing, and students also need this knowledge to plan their future studies.

On the other hand, excessive testing can negatively impact teenagers’ relationships with their peers. During youth, students need to create meaningful memories related to their friendships and school life; however, spending time preparing for tests often detracts from their personal time. Additionally, excessive examinations may infringe on teachers’ autonomy. Teachers, for example, are required to cover specific content before writing exam questions, which can lead to a rigid classroom environment. As a result, students may not be able to apply the knowledge that they acquire in real-world situations.

In conclusion, I personally believe that tests play a significant role in our daily lives. However, governments need to develop guidelines that ensure these assessments do not undermine students’ mental and physical health.