Topic: In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier and live longer, but they are less happy. Question: What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

These days, in spite of becoming richer, healthier and longer life expectancy, young people have a less happy tendency in many countries. This essay will discuss a number of reasons behind this phenomenon before proposing some measures to tackle this problem.

It is understandable why the young are likely to be less happy in a good level of living nowadays. One of the significant causes lies in high social pressure about success. In this era, the technology is developing rapidly, which results in demand for people to keep pace with and make use of effectively. Young people need to try hard in the workplace with the overworkload and strict competitions from both colleagues and machines. As a result, most of them usually feel stressed and worried about the future, as well as afraid of not being respected by other people if they fail. Another reason is the dependence on technology and social media. People are using phones and some online devices more frequently to deal with work and connect with other people due to the convenience and time-saving. This limits face-to-face conversations in real life, which makes some relationships weaken. Young people cannot maintain close connections with family and friends to share some stories about their life freely and comfortably.

There are some solutions that can be adopted to address this situation. Firstly, young people should balance between their work and life properly. They can plan a suitable timetable, as well as spend a fixed time each week to relax, think about themself and recover from stress. The government also needs to enact some policies related to the amount of working time and enhance companies invest more in facilities and mental benefits for workers. Secondly, another good solution for young people in this case is to try some outdoor activities such as swimming, playing badminton or volunteering. It will help them connect with more people in a realistic environment, relieve stress and feel happy due to being a social member. For example, travelling to another area to broaden the horizons explore themself and make friends is a popular way of many young people

In conclusion, there are some reasons for this negative trend including social pressure and dependency on the media. It is advisable for both organisations and young individuals to cooperate and deal with this problem.