Topic: In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier and live longer, but they are less happy. Question: What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

In some parts of the world, young individuals have an access to health care and higher life standards. However, most of them still remain less satisfied. The main reasons of this could be that they don’t have enough attention from their parents and they face high expectations in education and career from adults. To solve these problems, parents could devote more time to their children and appreciate every minor achievements.

One major reason of this problem is getting less attention from their parents. Most adults now work endless hours so that their children could get access to the cutting-edge technologies and higher standards of life. But most of them do not realize that they enforce their children to live completely alone, which can cause a severe emotional damage to their mental health. For example, young people in UK who come from rich families often face depression due to loneliness and the feeling of being left out. Moreover, the higher investments on a child’s education equals to higher expectations on their academic success. Sometimes these can be even unrealistic to reach at this young age. This can lead to the school-related stress or even high levels of anxiety. For instance, students in China are expected to perform exceptionally in their exams, which sometimes can lead to fatal consequences.

A vital solution for this problem could be spending more quality time with children. Even a small discussion of their day could make them feel more optimistic about their life and appreciated by their nearest and dearest people. Therefore, spending quality time directly affects teenagers’ mental heaths and carries a high value for the children themselves. A recent research on teenager’s mindset could be a perfect example. It is shown that most young individuals do not realize how they can feel relieved times when they split up everything they have seen throughout the day. Sometimes, parents wonder how simple conversation can lead to an improved well-being and can lift confidence of theirs. Another possible solution is to value every small victory. This can lead to the thought of being important to the adults, which can help them reduce everyday stress.

In conclusion, although young people have a better quality of life nowadays, they still are stressed because of lack of parental attention and high expectations from society. Parents can help to deal with them by spending more quality time together and appreciating everyday small-scale triumphs.