Topic: More and more universities are replacing traditional paper-based exams with computer-based tests. Do the advantages of computer-based exams outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a belief that replacing traditional paper-based exams with computer-based tests by universities is a bad decision. However, in my point of view, this is such a brilliant idea to develop the world.

On the one hand, paper-based exams may help people feel familiar and less anxious. Because computer-based tests just appeared in the last few years, it may be straight to most of the examinees. Therefore, doing a test in traditional way might boost examinees confidence since they have done this in many years. Nevertheless, in this way, the examinees could cheat on their exams. They may somehow ask others to help them. In addition, there could be too many examinees in an exam that the examiners can take care of so the cheaters may get through them.

On the other hand, computer-based tests make examinees more difficult to cheat. Since everyone has a separate room to do the test and also a different exam, they can cheat no longer. When examinees do the computer-based tests, they have to go to a room with only a computer and nothing else and they are forced to keep every device that they have outside the exam room. This makes sure the examinees will not have any support from the outside and only need one examiner to look after them. Moreover, because they do the tests on a computer, their answers will be sent to it, and then it will mark and hand out their exam right away. Therefore, teachers can make different tests for different examinees but do not have to waste time to mark every test and ensure everything goes well. With a different room and a different test, examinees can not cheat anymore.

In conclusion, computer-based tests are better than paper-based tests since they can handle cheating easily and do not need any big investments.