Tourism can have both positive and negative effects on a country. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism.

Tourism has become an increasingly important industry for many nations over the world as countries look for unique ways to increase their GDP. While it brings numerous benefits, it also presents several challenges for the nations. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the country.

One of the primary advantages of tourism is its economic impacts. For instance, tourism generates significant revenue for the country by attracting foreign visitors who spend money on accommodation, food, transportation and entertainment. In addition to this tourism has the ability to create many new job opportunities in hospitality and other sectors which can greatly benefit the local population. The influx of tourists will create more demand, which will result in the need for more employees to supply this demand. The tourists directly support the wages for these employees and the locals are able to flourish without the need for leaving their hometown. Finally, geographical identity could be improved in the world thanks to the visitors. If they have a positive experience they are likely to share with their compatriots and a more favorable overall view of the country is formed.

On the other hand, tourism causes damage to the environment through various factors. For example they are likely to increase the amount of pollution in the city as they will put a stress on transportation. Typically tourists are in a rush to observe as much as possible in a short period of time, suggesting that they will avoid cleaner methods of transportation such as bikes or walking. Furthermore, tourism can negatively impact local cultures as profit is prioritized over the protection of cultural identity. Traditional ways of life are neglected in order to please tourists who seek things to be done in a faster and more convenient manner.

In conclusion, tourism has become a major player in today’s economy, as each nation is striving to improve their reputation, and increase their GDP. Each nation should navigate ways to avoid the drawbacks while trying to attract as much as possible from the potential gains of this industry. Overall, we can expect this sector to grow and develop more intensely in the future, and thus deep analysis and discussion is needed in order to maximize the true potential of this development.