Traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies, is very popular in some countries. Those who practice traditional medicine claim that it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view?

Many people believe that traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies are more effective than modern procedures in keeping and improving a healthy body. I necessarily disagree, because conventional practices usually have historical value and can complement modern treatments, but it is not scientifically proven and less safety standards that can provide more reliable outcomes.

To start, modern methods are based on gradual research, trial and error, and scientific validation. It has been tested for the safeness and effectiveness throughout a standardized procedure, while traditional medicine is usually based on certain groups of people’s belief and lack of scientific processes. For instance, the vaccine that has been used for years to prevent some diseases is more reliable than only consuming any herbal products, because it might help boost the immune system but not solve the core disease maker.

In contrast, particular traditional treatments, such as traditional massage may help reduce physical exhausted and make the patient more relax. However, it will not solve the problem if the patient actually have more serious condition. The patient need to get a treatments perfectly as its body’s needs and this is why safety standard of an advance medicine is critical. In addition, modern medicine most of the time equipped with advance technologies that will have less negative long-term effect.

In summary, while traditional medicine has its own complimentary use, I believe that modern medicine, due to the scientific basis and continual upgrading is more reliable and effective to maintain, improve, and solve health issues.