Traditional medicine, such as acupuncture and herbal remedies, is very popular in some countries. Those who practice traditional medicine claim that it is better than modern medicine in maintaining and improving health. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view?

With the advancement and longtime research, modern medicine has been proved as the best practice to ensure human’s health condition. I disagree with the argument that says traditional medicine is better that modern’s method.

First, modern medicine has been proved scientifically to be effective and efficient to combat disease and keep humans healthy. Modern medicine has passed the long way within history and been developed carefully from time to time. For example, the usage of alcohol for open-wound sterilization had been changed because of the newer study that found a better approach for that case.

Moreover, the health workers involved in modern medication had been trained specifically on their field of expertise. To become a health professional ones need to pass a long time study with a lot of theory, practice, and tests. This is a prove that the professional health workers have a better understanding for what they do. For example, a doctor have to take a very long time to learn about general skill, and they need to take a deeper study to learn about a specific specialization.

Some people say that traditional medicine worked on them. However, not to combat the claim, we are not sure whether the success is due to the practice itself or because of the placebo effect. It has been known in the modern medicine and also psychology, human can combat their illness just by mental manipulation. For instance, even when testing the new medicine, modern medication usually test the pills in the laboratory with look-alike pills but made from sugar. Sometimes the sugar pills work as the cure, even though it is known to not have any specific medic chemical.

In conclusion, modern medicine is always better than traditional practice in maintaining and improving human health.