Traffic and housing problems could be solved by moving large companies, factories and their employees to the countryside. Do you agree or disagree?

The housing and traffic issues have drawn significant attention from publicity over the past decades. There is, however, a school of thought arguing that these problems can be effectively solved by transferring large corporations, factories, and their workforce to the countryside. I firmly disagree with this statement due to the excessive disadvantages it may lead to.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the relocation of factories and companies may alleviate the urban housing and traffic problems to some extent. This is because traffic congestion is most likely to be caused by the great influx of commuters traveling to their workplaces daily, while housing issues emerge due to the number of people gravitating towards the metropolitans in search of job opportunities. Indeed, this is also the reason why many people subscribe to the idea of removing those companies and factories from cities to rural areas. Obviously, without the huge number of vehicles commuting to work every day, as well as the increasing number of people residing to facilitate their occupations, problems related to accommodation and traffic can be diminished.

On the other hand, I firmly disagree with this idea due to the short-lived advantages it brings cannot outweigh the potential downsides. More specifically, the relocation of established companies and plants could lead to economic disruption. When those corporations are moved to the countryside, which often lacks the necessary infrastructure to support large-scale industrial and commercial activities, can pose a negative impact on supply chains, business relationships, and finally the local economy in general. In other words, this implication may result in job losses and adversely influence the overall economic stability. Additionally, removing these business facilities to the rural areas might also trigger urban sprawl, leading to increased pressure on natural resources, environmental degradation, and loss of agricultural land. Consequently, this will affect the lifestyles of residents living here and put a strain on the utilities and environment in rural communities, which possibly meet the backlash from publicity and create dissatisfaction among people living in rural settings.

In conclusion, although the idea of moving business to the countryside may seem like a straightforward solution to the housing and traffic problems, I strongly oppose this idea due to the outweighing drawbacks, Therefore, the government should consider a more holistic approach such as improving the infrastructures in tandem with the adoption of advanced technology to tackle with these issues more effectively.