Traffic and housing problems could be solved by moving large companies, factories and their employees to the countryside. Do you agree or disagree?

The possible solution for traffic jams and real estate crisis in many large cities could be moving workers and their workplaces to the countryside. These are significant issues that have to be adressed promptly. However I doubt that it is the best way to deal with those problems, therefore I disagree with it.

At first glance it may seem that removing polluting factories and giant corporations from cities can make latter fresher and more comfortable for living. People often prefer to spend their vacations in quiet and distant places trying to have a rest from the busy pace of urban life. So by detaching noisy enterprises from the city, we will make our neighbourhoods less crowded and perhaps more open places to live in.

However, it is obvious that having to waste additional hours on a commute to the workplace is not suitable for most individuals. Therefore we will have to provide accomodation for the employees too. This means that we will basically need to create new infrastructure from scratch, that will serve only for limited purposes. Such monocity will have the same issues as an ordinary one, including traffic and pollution related ones, in addition to other problems, like the lack of cultural and recreational areas.

In conclusion I don’t agree with the idea that relocating businesses to the countryside will help with solving problems of large cities. I think that suggested measures will even worsen already present issues for the working population and add even more struggle in regular life.