Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly common in cities. What problems does this create, and what effects does it have?

In recent years, traffic congestion has become a major problem worldwide, posing to several negative implications. This essay will examine the main problems caused by traffic overloads and discuss potential consequences caused by this.

On the one hand, traffic congestion can lead to several problems, one being the long commuting times. People spend hours stuck in traffic, which leads to the absenteeism and making them late for the work, school and etc. Subsequently, increasing their chances of being fired from work or even getting downgraded from their current positions. Another major problem caused by this is air and noise pollution. Large number of cars, trucks release huge amount of exhaust fumes, which decreases the quality of air and harms the environment. For example, Tashkent, which had the highest quality of air, has been reduced in the past 15 years, making it one of the most polluted city in world.

On the other hand, traffic congestion can lead to several consequences. Employees who arrive late to work and business delays dramatically decreases the productivity of the workplace, which then leads to huge economic loss. Furthermore, in can also contribute to health and stress problems among society. Frequent exposure to traffic jams can cause anxiety and respiratory illnesses due to polluted air. For instance, the vast majority of people in most European countries suffer from stress, mainly because of long traffic jams.

In conclusion, long commuting times and air and noise pollution are one the most obvious problems caused by traffic jams, while reduced productivity and health problems are consequences.