Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat tax' is unfair and unnecessary.

Nowadays, excessive usage of unhygienic foods is on the rise. The effects of unhealthy eating on the people and the society in which they reside, is a widely discussed topic among different analysts. Some suggest that unhealthy foods should be heavily taxed by the authorites, while others contend that this trend is unfair and unnecessary. Although, it is a necessary step to control the frequent usage of unhealthy items, i still believe that heavy taxation will result into many problems and so it should be avoided. Further investigation is required in order to reach a decisive conclusion.

To begin with, it is essential to control the demand of unhealthy foods and government should tax these items. There are several reasons for making this suggestion. At first, by taxing these unhygienic foods, excessive usage of them can be discouraged. For example, the prices of these foods will increase as a result of tax implications. Therefore, people will change their daily diet in order to maintain their monthly budget. Furthermore, excessive use of unhealthy diets can cause health problems as well. Such as, it is proven by a scientific study that streeet food i.e pizza and burgers etc. are the major cause of fat problems in the people, which leads to heart problems in mostly cases.

On the contray, placing fat tax is and unfair practice and it should be avoided, as it can lead to several issues especially regarding political and management problems. Firstly, putting extra taxes on the unhealtht items can be a source of rise in the inflation.For example, if an item is taxed by the government, it is unlikely that the companies will pay these extra charges from their pockets. Instead, they will increase the prices of these foods causing extra burden on the people. Moreover, unemployment is more likely to increase in case of fat taxing the unhygienic items. For instance, when a company is heavily taxed, they will try to minimize their losses by firing their employees. Also, it will effect the small scale manufacturers.

In conclusion, in my opinion, although it is unnecessary to minimize the usage of unhealthy items, but putting extra taxes on these things is unnecessary, as it can lead to several problems, i.e increase in inflation and unemployment.