Unit 6: Exercise 10 WRITING TASK 2 You should spend 40 minutes on this task Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Owing to today’s advanced technology, the popularity of IT-based subjects has grown strikingly , not to mention the fact that only a minor percentage of students worldwide is fascinated by the “Science” subject. This has a huge negative impact on society as a whole but positive impact personally. The result of this shift shall be discussed from both perspectives in this essay.

Personally, when studying the rich society, affluent men mostly pursue IT-based subjects rather than the branches of ‘Science” which requires long-term commitments. This makes the teenagers think that they can become wealthy through studying computer-related lectures. It is true in some ways as well because IT-related subjects can bring a significant amount of income if pursued efficiently. Therefore, favouring IT more than the Science does great for one but not the world.

If an individual perceives the effect of this development from the dimension of the whole society, there unarguably can be seen the adverse impacts brung out. To broaden, “Science’ is the oasis of modern life. Humans would return to the wildlife without the help of the Science. Hence,the house we live in, the mobile phone we use and exaggeratingly everything has been built or made by the knowledge of ‘Science’. Considering what life would be with no scientists, the today’s shift has made the majority of people concerned.

In conclusion, students showing more interest in the computer field than in scientific areas is not certainly beneficial ,however it could earn a large amount of money. Nevertheless, I believe that mankind needs to be balanced in both fields so that it could be far more advantageous for each individual.