Universities should prioritise teaching practical skills over theoretical knowledge. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of higher education has been widely debated, with some contending that practical skills are more crucial to acquire than nurturing theoretical knowledge. Even though the latter view might hold some merit, I agree with the former statement for two main reasons.

Admittedly, developing skills through theory is equally appealing, as it is the main rationale that fosters cognitive abilities of students. Skills like attentive listening, thorough scrutinization, and focus all stem from lectures and talks given to learners. While listening to a speech of a lecturer, notes are taken down in order to recall those for better comprehending. Consequently, students are more likely to enhance their mental capabilities and become cognitively stronger. Take Harvard students as a striking example. Being exposed to diverse talks given by affluent CEOs of successful campaigns makes them draw an ultimate conclusion of attaining success in life.

Nevertheless, the practical skills are far more paramount, since these play a vital role in acquiring skills faster and for longer period of time. Completing duties physically will make students bear methods, stages, and strategies in mind much better, as physical actions hold more memories than mental ones. Teamwork is another major benefit. As most of the practical tasks require a combination of effort and stamina, students gather together and discuss the ways of solution, which in particular cultivates problem-solving and decision-making abilities. Volunteering exemplifies my view. While being involved in a variety of tasks, students obtain certain habits from one another, indicating the collaborative nature of skill development.

To conclude, while enhancements may lie beyond both these factors, I firmly believe that a saying that goes: ‘Practice makes perfect’ carries more validity in maintaining a long-term skill.