University education should be free for everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, people have conflicting views on university tuition fees. Some individuals believe that students should gain a university education without paying. However, I believe that making it completely free for everyone is not feasible.

On the one hand, free academies bring many distinguished benefits. First and foremost, they can promote equal opportunities for low-income students. Without financial pressure, they can attend reputable universities and even pursue a master’s degree, which is usually expensive. Second, due to the high number of outstanding graduates, there can be a more educated workforce for society and the economy, which significantly improves innovation and productivity. For example, Finland is renowned for free university education, which significantly boosts its economy by the number of elites in many fields, such as technology, fashion, and healthcare.

On the other hand, it is also undeniable that there are still many notable problems. Many developing countries need to prioritise essential sectors such as infrastructure and healthcare. Therefore, providing free tuition for all students is a significant challenge that the government may struggle to allocate to education budgets. Moreover, free academies can lead to a decline in the motivation of students. As many students attend university without financial concerns, they may not appreciate the opportunity. Consequently, it can lead to a decline in graduation quality. On top of that, universities may lack the financial resources to maintain quality due to costs for infrastructure, faculty, and other activities

In conclusion, although a free university education can bring many advantages, it is not sustainable for long-term operation. Nevertheless, academies should provide students with funds or scholarships to enhance the conscientious attitude in learning.